How to Reset MacBook Pro 2022 And Easy Steps to Factory Reset your Mac

0/5 No votes

Report this app

Description

How to Reset MacBook Pro 2022 And Easy Steps to Factory Reset your Mac

How to Back up your data

How to Reset your MacBook Pro
Time Machine

This is the first and the most crucial step you have to take before resetting your MacBook Pro. If not, you’ll end up losing your important data.

  • Firstly, make a copy of all your data in the MacBook Pro
  • Then back them up to an external hard drive
  • Restore them to your Mac once you’re done.

Note: With the built-in Time Machine program, you can easily copy all the information which includes files, documents, and others to an external hard drive.

If you want to be selective by choosing only the ones you want to store, the Time Machine program with other backup programs will make it easy for you

Sign out of your accounts

A factory reset is a bit difficult because there’re extra steps to take before and after the reset. After you’ve backed up your device, the next action you should take is to sign out of your accounts. Such accounts might be iTunes, iMessage, and iCloud, so make sure you sign out to those accounts and other ones that are in use.

Also, you’ll need to sign out from apps like TV, Music, and Books one after the other, though it is done using iTunes some years ago. In case you don’t know how to do these, we’ll show you how.

  • Open any of the apps and go to Account > Authorization and then Deauthorize This Computer
  • Enter your Apple ID and password then click the “Deauthorize” button.

To sign out of iCloud

  • You’ll need to turn off Find My Mac from System Preferences then click on Apple ID
  • Select iCloud that’s on the top left panel, then uncheck the Find My Mac
  • Lastly, click Overview to see the sign-out button for iCloud.

To Sign out of iMessage

  • Signing out of iMessage is very easy. Just click Messages from the Messages app and select Preferences
  • Then open the iMessage tab and click sign out.
Reset your MacBook Pro

Reset your MacBook Pro

You’ll see an Apple menu on the top left corner of your screen.

  • Open the folder and select restart.
  • As the restart process is going on by showing a black screen with the Apple logo, press and hold the command button with R at the same time on the keypad.
  • You’ll be redirected to the Disk Utility window where you can erase the entire information that was stored on your MacBook Pro.
  • At first, you’ll be shown many options like Restore From Time Machine BackupReinstall macOSGet Help Online, and Disk Utility.
  • Then click the Disk Utility option and select continue.
  • From the options available, choose your hard drive (depending on the name you used to save it if you’ve renamed it) and click Erase.

Once you’re done erasing all the information on your computer, you’ll have to reinstall the operating system.

  • Go back to the Disk Utility window and you’ll see the same options as we mentioned above.

If you couldn’t find your way back to the Disk Utility window, restart the computer once again and hold the command-R button. Then click on Reinstall macOS from the options available and follow the instructions to reinstall your operating system. After that, you’ll be directed to the Setup Assistant showing that your MacBook Pro has begun a fresh start, but you can restart your computer to restore your data.

How to Factory Reset your MacBook Pro
Restore From Time Machine

How to Reset your MacBook Pro: Restore Your Data

Once you’re done with the factory reset, the next step is to restore your data to your MacBook Pro. This can be done by using the following steps.

  • Plug in the external hard drive you used to back up your data in the MacBook Pro.
  • Once the external hard drive is connected to your computer open the Finder.
  • Click Applications, then select Utilities > Migration Assistant, and then click Continue.

A window will show up on the screen with different sources from which you can restore your data. Choose the option that says Time Machine Backup and click continue.

Your data will be restored to your MacBook Pro without losing the one once they’re already backed up to the external hard drive.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.